A little bit of coffee and a whole lot of Jesus

mqymjctwjyq-padurariu-alexandru

Some days I just feel weary…mentally, physically, emotionally.  And I have a teenage daughter at home so, need I say more? It is the end of her junior year and after tomorrow she will officially be a senior.  But as a mom sometimes I get really weary helping her solve all the “end of the world” problems that come up in her life.  Don’t get me wrong, I love being her mom.  She is an amazing, godly girl and I love being the one God has put in her life to impart wisdom and guidance.  But some days I don’t want to tackle any one else’s problems but mine.  I don’t want to deal with the hormones and “talking off the ledge” moments when things don’t go right in her little world.  Mostly because I want to make everything amazing for her and I don’t want her to have struggles and I want life to be better for her than it was for me at this age.  But I can’t, so I keep being mommy and I keep helping her figure it out.

But yesterday I got a delivery that has just made my day today!  I bought a new Keurig for my office and it arrived So today I had an amazing cup of coffee in my office and opened the second gift I received today.  God’s Word…encouraging words…reassurance…

And that makes the days easier…a little bit of coffee and a WHOLE lot of Jesus.  So today I rest in Him.

“He makes me lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside quiet waters. He restores my soul.” Psalm 23:2-3a

Just closing my eyes, taking a deep breath of the rich aroma of my coffee and picturing walking by a stream with the Lord and laying in the grass and watching the clouds go by makes me feel so peaceful.  That’s what God wants for me and for you.

So here’s what I want you to do today:

Make a cup of something warm and cozy.
Find a quiet spot.
Close your eyes.
Take a deep breath.
And picture God walking with you along those quiet waters.
And give him your weariness, your struggles, your anxiety.
Rest in Him.

Leave a comment